Into the Ether....!

madogc

Jun 11, 2024
London
Hello Everyone, I am new to the world of digital, and have recently bought a DAC, headphone amp and...a beautiful, classy, Innuos Zen Mini Mk2.

I am so happy with the sound, but of course am always searching for improvements.

Due to my current living situation, I do not have a traditional two speaker set-up and am limited purely to listening through headphones.

At the same time, I am unable to connect the streamer directly to my router which is on the ground floor. My system is directly above on the next floor and

I am using a WiFi disc (like a satellite router), which has been paired to the router downstairs. A budget Ethernet cable connects this to the Innuos. The main router

downstairs has the cheap cable which was supplied by the Telecom company.

I have read many convincing articles praising the virtues of quality Ethernet cables, and was about to press the button on a £100 Audioquest carbon.

However, then I thought, don't be hasty. My thought was, if I am not connecting directly, but remotely via this hub upstairs (presumably via WiFi?), would a quality cable

make any difference into the main router?

Or, should I connect it from the Innuos to the satellite router? OR, should I buy two quality cables, one for each!?

I have spoken to three so called HiFi gurus at audio shops in London and no one can give me a definitive answer! I would have thought this would be a straightforward answer!

I would be so grateful if somebody could offer me some advice. Thank you, Steven